Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

 Lootaku is a premium monthly subscription based service to fulfill everybody’s geeky addictions. Our box features full figure statues and Asia exclusives that you will not find in any other subscription box. We promise no filler or promotional items, and our values are always based on current cheapest prices on Amazon.

Prices and values on the Lootaku website are given US dollars.

A one month subscription is $44.99 (three and six month subscriptions are cheaper). At current exchange rates this is £34.73.

UK Shipping is $17.66 (£13.63). It’s on the pricey side, but this is a premium box and it’s coming a long way.

1-month subscription total: £48.36

This month’s theme is Assassins, featuring Naruto, Attack on Titan, and Hunter x Hunter. These are three of the most well-respected manga series, and of course they all have movie and animation spin-offs.

Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

I think Lootaku has the best shipping box of any company. 

Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

There’s what looks like a pretty big figure in there.

Itachi Naruto figure Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

This is a figure by Chaoer Comics of Itachi from Naruto. This is one of two possible figures, the other being Kakashi.

This is a Lootaku debt for Chaoer Comics. The company makes figures that are generally only available on the Asian market.

Itachi Naruto figure Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

Itachi Naruto figure Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

Itachi Naruto figure Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

Itachi Naruto figure Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

 

Itachi Naruto figure Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

The detailing on this figure is really nice. Despite not knowing anything about the company the makes them, it seems excellent quality.

Kakashi Naruto POP figure Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

This is a POP! vinyl of Kakashi, also from Naruto. 

 

Kakashi Naruto POP figure Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

 

Kakashi Naruto POP figure Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

Kakashi Naruto POP figure Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

Kakashi Naruto POP figure Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

This is your standard POP! figure. It’s one of two possible options, the other being Naruto.

I’m not that keen on POP! figures in general, because I find the styling so samey. However this has good details and looks reasonably distinctive.

Hunter x Hunter Greed Island Spell Cards Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

This is a proper geek fan item. Nope, they’re not playing cards.

It’s a full set of 40 Hunter x Hunter Greed Island Spell Cards.

Hunter x Hunter Greed Island Spell Cards Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

(I can’t do a perfect card fan, sorry.)

Greed Island is a video game within the Hunter x Hunter world. If you want to know, click here

Hunter x Hunter Greed Island Spell Cards Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

Also included is a list detailing each of the spell cards. 

This set of cards isn’t available in stores. I don’t know if this is specifically a Lootaku exclusive, but it’s a very impressive item.

Attack on Titan Blade Keychain Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

This Attack on Titan Blade Keychain is a miniature version of the ultrahard steel swords which are the main portable weapons in the fight against the Titans.

Attack on Titan Blade Keychain Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

Attack on Titan Blade Keychain Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

It’s a little large for my pocket or handbag, but it would make quite a good letter opener! 

Hunter x Hunter Licence 8GB memory stick Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

This is a really fun item

It’s a replica Hunter x Hunter Licence.

But it’s more than that…

Hunter x Hunter Licence 8GB memory stick Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

See that shape on the far edge?

Hunter x Hunter Licence 8GB memory stick Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

Hunter x Hunter Licence 8GB memory stick Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

It’s an 8GB USB memory stick!Hunter x Hunter Licence 8GB memory stick Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

Pretty cool, huh?

I’ve never seen a USB stick like this. It’s the size of a credit card and about twice the thickness. Perfect for keeping in your wallet or tablet case.

Last but not least:

Attack on Titan Backpack Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

This gorgeous Attack of the Titans Backpack!

Lootaku don’t do t-shirts (except in their one-off Rick and Morty box) but occasionally include other wearable and usable items. 

This is their most fantastic wearable ever. 

Attack on Titan Backpack Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

It’s really nicely made.

Attack on Titan Backpack Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS UnboxingLots of pockets inside and out, including water bottle pockets on the sides. 

It’s not waterproof, but it’s made from lovely soft canvas. 

This is great for cosplay or just for day-to-day use. I got the tan version, though there was also a black variable. 

Well, I say ‘I got the tan version’, but actually…

Attack on Titan Backpack Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

I believe my Titan-loving husband, Big C, actually got this backpack. Here he is about to leave for work with my his new backpack.

Review: Lootaku August 2017 ASSASSINS Unboxing

Quick look at the menu card. It contains details about the items and characters, as well as values.

I don’t take values at face value (ha ha), because this is a box from Hong Kong and often their items are Asia-exclusive, or at least extremely difficult to find in the UK. Also I find you can never reply on RRP for anything. That being said, I’ve not yet valued the contents of one of their boxes at less, or even equal to, the price of their subscription.

I’ll start straight in, as I always do, at the contents value as I can discover. I use an online currency converter so they’re correct at time of writing. I can’t always take into account shipping costs of individual items, but I do my best to be fair.

Often I can find things on Amazon, but some of the items in Lootaku boxes are nigh on impossible to source in the UK, so sometimes I have to guesstimate. I also don’t use eBay as reference, as I find prices are not reliable or realistic.

We saw at the top that the monthly subscription is £48.34.

Large Itachi figure: OK, I can say with confidence that this is impossible to source. There were a couple of Chaoer figures listed on Amazon, but not currently available so no prices. As it’s a pretty good-sized figure I’m going to put it at £25, but given the rarity factor this is a pretty conservative estimate.

POP! figure: this was easy to find, and generally costs £10.

Hunter Spell Cards: Nope, these are nowhere. I can’t even find anything similar. Lootaku values these at $20, which I assume is because they are more or less exclusive. While this seems kind of high, I appreciate the rarity value of these so I’ll put £15.

USB stick: This was also listed on Amazon UK, but of course unavailable. I did find it on Amazon.com, for $19. It also gets an impressive 4/5 stars, so it’s not just tat. Anyway, that works out at around £14.

Keychain: I found one that looks the same on a Greek website (!) for €5.90 which works out to around £5.40.

Backpack: This was also on Amazon UK, £14.90 and scored 4.7/5 stars!

Total: £84.30

That’s an extremely respectable value bump.

This is an excellent box.

I absolutely love there are two things that have great practical use. The bag is fantastic, I absolutely love it. So does big C. And the USB key card is incredibly useful. I’ve never seen one that can fit easily into a wallet, so I can see this being used regularly.

Lootaku usually include Bandai/Banpresto figures in their boxes, so it’s nice to see figures from another company. Though the Itachi figure isn’t in the traditional manga style, I like its quirky style. It’s a bit like a POP! style but with better proportions.

I always feel a bit meh about POP!s. Like I said, they all look the same to me, and they are very easily available. However Lootaku rarely includes them so I’ll give them a pass this time.

The keychain is fun, and like I said could find a use as a letter opener. It’s almost filler, but given the overall value of the box even without it, it’s actually a very nice extra bonus.

Lootaku is really going back to its manga/anime roots with this box. It’s great they’ve going slightly off-piste with the figures, and including a backpack is a stroke of genius!

This really is a premium box. The fact that so many items are hard to find in the West, or just plain impossible, give this box an extra dimension.  You pay more than your average geek subscription box, but for manga and anime fans it is more than worth it.

Great stuff Lootaku!